click 3

As I reflect on the many encounters with the concept and sense of God, I realize that in every case I was on a collision course with the next experience. For instance, the circumstance of moving to Oregon wasn’t my choice, the trip to Viet Nam wasn’t my choice and so on. Though there were many choices in my life it seemed that when God wanted my attention, he got it. As I continued on my life’s path I met a number of people who had an effect on my journey toward “God” awareness. A fellow Marine in-country and another in Hawaii ultimately led me into the church (religious) experience. Though there were many happy connections and the search for awareness seamed to be heightened, I wonder if this path was essential. The part of community was a good experience for my family and myself, but the religious garb we collected seamed to be a weight making it difficult to move freely in the walk wanted for me. I became acutely aware of the difference between what man says God calls sin and what God actually calls sin. There is a great gulf of misunderstanding between men of God and God. There are so many trappings in religion that one spends all their time unwinding threads of misinformation in order to get down to what is true or real. It was some 24 years of sorting out until I was struck with a heart attack, it was during this time that I came face to face with choices. Choices of what in my life was important and what was something that needed to go! It is amazing how much religious stuff went out the window. Around the same period in my life I made a concrete decision to stop everything I use to do to keep my spiritual walk on high rev. There was no bible or other literature pertaining to religion, no spiritual music, no more sermons and no more people telling me about God. I decided to return to a time before all that stuff and begin again the walk with God that I started with those years ago. Don’t get me wrong, I always throughout those years had a burning desire to have a deep and personal relationship with God. That is what it was supposed to be; a simple walk through life with the love of my life, God.

One thought on “click 3

Leave a Reply

